2016 Presidential Debate Week of 9/25/2016

I absolutely did not intend to watch the debate this year. Yet, as occasion would have it, I viewed it on the Web. I found the experience of watching it on the Web far better. Anyway, as the debate unfolded I came away with a few impressions. I saw a good, civil debate. Sure, there were low points, but overall, it seems to stay on a balanced track.

  • I thought the Republican candidate did well. Better than the general media portrayals.
  • The Republican candidate has a steady, strong, intelligent, and very insightful response to many questions.
  • The leadership profile and overall introspective nature of the Republican candidate is very solid.
  • The Democrat candidate was polished, relaxed, and demonstrated a strong aptitude for the more sophisticated dimensions of the discussions.
  • I thought the Democrat candidate’s strongest moments was in championing the views of the traditionally under-privileged.
  • What I saw in the Democrat candidate is someone who will probably be more diligent in the relationship between people and government.

I saw and do see some strong negatives as well, but I want to emphasize the positive. The negatives I think can be worked out. They will have to be worked out.

It will be a tough decision as to with whom to vie. Decisive will be characteristics of inclusion, genuine generosity, and respect. Evidence of real leadership and an influence that will be less harmful and corrosive to the daily comings and goings of people in local communities. With whom will that be more likely? I guess we all have to tune in more to find out.

Leave a Reply

