Book Review: 23 Things They Don’t Tell You About Capitalism

Two years ago I came across this book. I almost passed on reading the book except for the reviews on the Internet. I decided I would give it a try. I read half of the pages in the book a year ago and recently picked back up where I left off. A well written book that I found engaging. The book’s author is well research in matters of economics and his insights go deep.

I was convinced by his arguments regarding capitalism. He is pro-capitalism but only certain forms of capitalism. I think he favors a more “nationalistic” form of capitalism and makes a good argument against “free-trade” style capitalism. With all the details he’s shared, I agree with his assessment.

Based on the details he has shared, “free-trade” style capitalism, the way it has been practiced over the last 100 or so years is ruinous for jobs, economies, and cultures. It is a gateway to destroying a society. A device for undermining the intrinsic growth possibilities of a nation.

Anyway, the author articulates this far better than I can summarize. I definitely encourage others to study his work. The details are eye-opening.

Leave a Reply

